How to Block Yourself from Being ‘Seen’ by Facebook’s New Read Receipts Feature

Facebook recently added some features to its Messages, Chat and Groups that a lot of people have found to be somewhat sketchy. Facebook’s “read receipts” tell people exactly who has viewed posts and messages, so you can no longer get away with the old, trusted excuse of “What message?”In Groups, anyone with permission to view a post can hover over it and see a list of other people who have read it. This could actually be functional if you’re using it to coordinate meeting times or sharing documents for work. But when it comes to Messages and Chat, it gets a little creepy. According to Josh Constine of TechCrunch, not only will people always know if you’ve read a message or not, “you’ll now see the name of town or city from which a message was sent in-line if your conversation partners have location enabled.”

If you don’t want your Facebook Messenger to have a built-in white lie detector, try Chat Undetected. It’s a browser extension made by Crossrider that works across Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer and Safari. All you have to do is install it and it disables read receipts so you can stay incognito when you want to be.

What do you think of read receipts? Does anyone already use something similar to Chat Undetected? Tell us about it in the comments.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s